Power Distribution Units Must Meet Health and Safety Requirements

Posted by Enconnex Team on June 4, 2021

In our last post, Understanding Certifications that Apply to Power Distribution Units, we provided an overview of the certifications required for power distribution units (PDUs). Because a PDU is an electrical device, it must meet specific standards for safe operation in the data center environment. The specific requirements will depend upon the standards developed by government agencies, labs, and industry associations in the region where the PDU is sold.


Main PDU Certifications


UL Listed Mark

UL applies primarily to electrical products sold in the U.S. and Canada. It is not required, but all reputable manufacturers obtain UL certification. Products are tested to ensure that they are reasonably free from the risk of electric shock, fire, and other hazards.


CE Mark

CE Marks are required for electronic devices to be sold in the European Union (EU). Manufacturers generally self-certify products. The EU low-voltage directive (LVD) also covers PDUs.


IEC CB Scheme

A global standard in which national certification bodies recognize the testing used by others in the scheme, allowing manufacturers to achieve certification across multiple countries. The new IEC 62368-1 standard applies to PDUs.


FCC Compliance

FCC compliance is a certification showing that a device’s electromagnetic emissions do not create interference or safety hazards. PDUs designed for business or industrial environments are considered Class A digital devices under the rules.



UKCA mark is a new certification that went into effect on Jan. 31, 2020, for products marketed in Great Britain. Currently, its requirements are similar to the CE mark. However, the UKCA mark is expected to become mandatory at the end of the Brexit transition period.

NEMKO Certification

Universal PDUs may have an additional certification. As we explained in a previous post, a universal PDU has a seven-pin input connector that supports multiple types of input power cables. This makes it possible to adapt the PDU to the input power of a particular data center. Organizations may utilize the same PDU model across their global IT environment. They can also adapt to changing power requirements within a data center.

In addition to meeting the CE, CB and FCC requirements, the universal PDUs from Enconnex are certified by Norges Elektriske Materiellkontroll (NEMKO). Established in 1933 for the safety testing of electrical equipment used in Norway’s public utility network, NEMKO adopted the European Community Directives for product safety. NEMKO became an independent foundation with a council of representatives from industry groups, trade organizations, utility companies, and related entities.

NEMKO provides product development, testing, and certification services and facilitates the international approval of electrical and electronic products. This is ideal for universal PDUs, which by their nature, are sold and used in multiple markets worldwide.


SGS NRTL Certification

The PDUs manufactured by Enconnex have also obtained certification from SGS, a Nationally Recognized Test Laboratory (NRTL) that is officially recognized by the American Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). Third-party testing in SGS accredited facilities determines whether products meet relevant U.S. and Canadian standards. Testing also ensures that product materials and manufacturing meet safety requirements, and the manufacturer has systems in place to guarantee consistent quality.


Enconnex: Your Assurance of Quality PDUs

When you buy PDUs from Enconnex, you don’t have to worry about safety standards. All of our PDUs have been tested and certified for use in multiple regions so that you can utilize them across all of your data centers worldwide. Our power specialists are here to help you select the right PDU to meet your specific requirements.

Posted by Enconnex Team on June 4, 2021

Learn more about Enconnex

Get to know Enconnex with a customized fit-out